Welcome back, sports fans, to another edition of Is this a Catch?! Often times we highlight amazing feats (or near feats) of athleticism, but this past Thanksgiving week of football saw one particular subtle play go mostly unnoticed. Keep in mind the following was ruled not a catch during the game. Let’s go to the highlight, disappointingly short due to the NFL’s rules regarding game footage on social media.
— Alexis Ramsey (@alexismramsey) November 24, 2016
The first thing to jump out here is that the receiver was in excellent position already, and barely had to even move. It’s pretty clear that both hands make a solid grab, with no movement after the catch. But.
We can’t be sure the receiver has two feet down. Hell, does the receiver even have any feet at all? With this in mind, I’m afraid we cannot overrule the call made on the field and must conclude that this IS NOT A CATCH.
Until next time, remember: keep the ball secure through the entire process of the catch if you’re going to the ground under your own power unless you’re in the endzone and then maybe the rules are a little different and you only have to have control for a split second if it gets knocked away and it can touch the ground if you have it secured unless maybe you’re not in the endzone also get two feet down or just your butt unless you’re in the endzone and the pylon counts as in bounds so just touch that.